Featured Student: Amber Perez

Amber Perez is a double major in Human Biology and Spanish. Here’s what she had to say:

When do you plan on graduating? I could possibly graduate in Fall 2019, but at this point I’m most likely planning on May 2020.

Why did you major in Human Biology and Spanish? I have always been a Human Biology major because I plan on becoming a funeral director after college. I wanted to get a degree in Human Biology instead of only going to technical school so my options would be open. I used to be a Spanish minor, but then I decided I wanted to study abroad during the summer. I decided to become a Spanish major so I could go to Spain, and I only need two more classes after that.

What are your plans for after graduation? After graduating from UWGB, I plan to go back to Milwaukee (that’s where I’m from) and go to Milwaukee Area Technical School to finish out the funeral service program. After that I hope to get an apprenticeship, and then start working as a funeral director!

What academic experience or accomplishment are you most proud of? This question is hard for me to answer. Honestly, I am proud of my entire academic career. I’m a first generation college student so getting this far is quite an accomplishment for me. If I had to choose something, I would say that I am most proud of continuing to do well in my classes while balancing my busy life with extracurricular activities like being the president of the Organizacion Latino American@ (OLA), Christ Living Among Students (CLAS), working at the Language Lab and the Mauthe Center, and keeping of it all!

What single thing do you hope to accomplish at UWGB before graduating? Before I graduate Green Bay, I suppose what I like to accomplish is more on an interpersonal level with people. I hope to be a positive influence and inspiration to people through sharing my story of struggle yet triumph, and I want to give someone else a little hope through my story. A more tangible goal I am hoping to accomplish I’m organizing a mental health program like we have not seen on campus before, and I hope to help make an impact with it.

What do you do for fun? When I’m not in class or working, I’m usually doing something for OLA. OLA is definitely one of my biggest passions here on campus. Although it can be stressful at times, the events I help to plan end up being the most rewarding and fun things that I do! When I have time for more fun, I like to draw (I have a “blog” called Creative Eyes. i update it when I can), go to rock concerts, dye my hair, hang out with my friends and boyfriend, and pet cats!

What else do you want people to know about you? I love to volunteer and help out when I can! Also, I think it’s valuable for people to know I suffer with Bipolar II Disorder and show that even when you suffer with a mental disorder, it doesn’t have to define you. That’s only one aspect of yourself, and we as human beings have so many dynamic aspect. We shouldn’t let one limit us.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *